DC Art Educator of the Year Award

The results are in – and it’s a tie!

Art Education DC received a number of outstanding nominations for this year’s DC Art Education of the Year Award. Applications were scored using NAEA’s awards rubric by Heidi Hinish, AEDC board chair; Terry Thomas, AEDC board member and past DC Art Education award winner; and Tracey Wyton, Director of Programs and Community Engagement, DC Arts and Humanities Education Collaborative.

We are thrilled to share with you that not one, but two amazing art educators received top scores.  Therefore, this year we are honored to announce both Lauren Bomba, art educator at Maury Elementary School (DCPS) and Donna Jonte, art museum educator at the Phillips Collection and the National Gallery of Art, as awardees.

In keeping with NAEA’s policies, only one state awardee per year can receive national recognition, so please join us in congratulating:

Lauren Bomba as the 2018 DC Art Educator of the Year






Donna Jonte as the 2019 DC Art Educator of the Year





The DC Art Educator of the Year Award recognizes excellence in teaching and service to our community.  Lauren and Donna are extremely accomplished art educators and strong advocates for the arts in education.

Each awardee will receive a $200 Blick Art Materials card. Lauren will be recognized at the 2018 NAEA National Convention in Seattle, Washington and Donna will be recognized at the 2019 NAEA National Convention in Boston, Massachusetts.


Comments are closed